A Brief History of the League

WPWL Launch 2015/16

WPWL Launch 2015/16

The Welsh Premier Women’s League was formed in 2009. In its first three years the League was divided into two conferences; North and South. Both winners then played a championship play-off for the title and right to play in the UEFA Women's Champions League.

The eight clubs who formed the League were Aberystwyth Town Ladies, Caernarfon Town Ladies, Llanidloes Ladies, Manorbier Ladies, Newcastle Emlyn Ladies, Swansea City Ladies, UWIC Ladies and Wrexham Ladies.

The first season featured no relegation but from the 2010-11 season onwards, the last placed team in each conference was relegated. The League changed the format to a single division for the 2012–13 season. The League was also expanded for the second time during this period. After eight teams in the first season and ten teams in second and third season, twelve teams now participate in the league.

Picture Gallery

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel