Date: Tue 16 Jul 2019

2019/20 Season starts with 2018/19 Champions v Runners Up!

The WPWL 2019/20 fixtures are out, with the opening games seeing last season’s champions host runners up Swansea City. Elsewhere, newly promoted Aberystwyth welcome Rhyl, Llandudno travel to Briton Ferry Llanaswel, Cardiff City Women visit Abergavenny and Port Talbot face Cyncoed.

The Welsh Premier Women's League kicks off on 8th September, as the season starts with the first round of the revamped WPWL League Cup on 1st September. The official launch of the League will be on 3rd September at the Wales v Northern Ireland game at Rodney Parade.

The WPWL is scheduled to finish on 12th April 2020, with the potential for a big game between Cardiff Met and Cardiff Women on the final day. Other notable games throughout the season include Rhyl v Llandudno who will see out 2019 with their first derby on 15th December, Abergavenny ran Port Talbot close for fourth place in last year’s campaign and the two will face each other on 27th October and 1st March and at the same time Briton Ferry Llanswel will be taking on Cyncoed, who were also closely matched last season.

The FAW Women’s Cup final is on Sunday 19th April and will be the last game of the 2019/20 season for the WPWL clubs, with all invited to join us at the game to celebrate women’s club football in Wales.

The recently announced changes made to the League Cup format mean it’s a busy season for WPWL clubs, with matches almost every weekend, to be played Sunday’s 2pm (please check for amendments to the programme).

The full fixture programme can be found here.

Opening fixtures to be played Sunday 8th September, 2pm:
Abergavenny v Cardiff City
Aberystwyth v Rhyl
Briton Ferry Llansawel v Llandudno
Cardiff Met v Swanswa
Port Talbot v Cyncoed

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel